The case of Liliana Carrillo illustrates the desperate need for Los Angeles County to invest in perinatal mental health training and a coordinated system of care. Maternal Mental Health NOW is calling on the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors to pass a motion mandating that employees at all county agencies and departments receive comprehensive training on perinatal mood and anxiety disorders and fund appropriate, high-quality, easily accessible and culturally appropriate care, so that tragedies such as this one do not happen again.

You can help!

The Board of Supervisors is the governing body of the County of Los Angeles, having executive, legislative and quasi-judicial roles. For the first time in history, all five members of the Board of Supervisors identify as female. As elected officials, they report to you – their constituents. Please write to your supervisor and ask them to take action to address perinatal mood and anxiety disorders by mandating training and funding for a coordinated system of treatment and care. The names, contact information and district areas of each supervisor are listed below, the email links below are pre-populated with a draft message you can personalize as you wish or click here to see the message.

Additionally,  you can link to and/or borrow language from my abbreviated Letter to the Editor that was published in the LA Times or the original full length letter here.

We can do this! With your support we can achieve Maternal Mental Health NOW’s mission to ensure that all of LA County’s growing families have access to timely, informed and culturally appropriate perinatal mental health care.

Gratefully yours,

Kelly O’Connor
Executive Director

Identify and Contact Your County Supervisor

First District: Supervisor Hilda Solis
Includes: Azusa, Baldwin Park, Bell, Bell Gardens, Claremont, Commerce, Cudahy, El Monte, Huntington Park, Industry, Irwindale, La Puente, Los Angeles (portion), Maywood, Montebello, Monterey Park, Pico Rivera, Pomona, Rosemead, South El Monte, South Gate, Vernon, Walnut, West Covina

Email: [email protected]
Phone: (213) 974-4111

Second District: Supervisor Holly Mitchell
Includes: Carson, Compton, Culver City, Gardena, Hawthorne, Inglewood, Lawndale, Los Angeles (portion), Lynwood

Email: [email protected].gov
Phone: 213-974-2222

Third District: Supervisor Lindsey P. Horvath
Includes: Agoura Hills, Beverly Hills, Calabasas, Hidden Hills, Los Angeles (portion), Malibu, San Fernando, Santa Monica, West Hollywood, Westlake Village

Email: [email protected]
Phone: (213) 974-3333

Fourth District: Supervisor Janice Hahn
Includes: San Clemente Island, Santa Catalina Island, Marina Del Rey, Playa Del Rey, El Segundo, Manhattan Beach, Hermosa Beach, Redondo Beach, Torrance, Palos Verdes Estates, Rancho Palos Verdes, Lomita, Rolling Hills Estates, Rolling Hills, Lomita, Harbor City, San Pedro, Los Angeles (portion) Wilmington, Signal Hill, Long Beach, LAkewood, Bellflower, Downey, Paramount, Norwalk, Artesia, Cerritos, Whittier, La Mirada, Hacienda Heights, La Habra Heights, Rowland Heights, Diamond Bar

Email: [email protected].gov
Phone: (213) 974-4444

Fifth District: Supervisor Kathryn Barger
Includes: Alhambra, Arcadia, Bradbury, Burbank, Covina, Duarte, Glendale, Glendora, La Canada-Flintridge, La Verne, Lancaster, Monrovia, Palmdale, Pasadena, San Dimas, San Gabriel, San Marino, Santa Clarita, Sierra Madre, South Pasadena, Temple City, Los Angeles City, Canoga Park (portion), Chatsworth (portion), Chatworth Village, Granada Hills (portion), Hansen Dam (portion), Lake View Terrace (portion), Mission Hills (portion), Northridge (portion), Olive View Hospital (in Sylmar), Porter Ranch, Shadow Hills, Sun Valley (portion), Sunland, Sylmar (portion), Tujunga, West Hills (portion)

Email: [email protected]
Phone: (213) 974-5555